Coalition for the International Criminal Court
Follow Us: Facebook Twitter
Browse by Region
map Americas Africa Asia and Pacific Europe Middle East and North Africa
> ICC Structure and Officials > Judges and the Presidency
Judges and the Presidency
Judges and the Presidency
Claude Jorda, Mauro Politi, Anita Usacka, Sang-hyun Song, Karl T. Hudson-Phillips, Fatoumata Dembele Diarra, Akua Kuenyehia, Maureen Harding Clark, Sylvia H. de Figueiredo Steiner, Elizabeth Odio Benito, Philippe Kirsch, Gheorghios M. Pikis, Erkki Kourula, Adrian Fulford, Navanethem Pillay, Hans-Peter Kaul, René Blattmann and Tuiloma Neroni Slade. Photo Credit: ICC-CPI/Wim Van Cappellen
The first bench of judges was elected in February 2003. The judges were sworn in at a ceremony hosted by the government of the Netherlands in The Hague on 11 March 2003. The second bench of judges was elected in January 2006 and was sworn in on 11 March 2006. On 30 November and 3 December 2007 three judges were elected to replace judges who had resigned prior to the end of their terms. They were sworn in on 17 January 2008. On 19-20 January 2009, during the first resumed session of the seventh session of the Assembly of States Parties (“ASP”) at the UN Headquarters in New York, states elected six new ICC judges for nine-year terms. One of the Judges submitted his resignation for personal reasons on 16 February 2009. On 24 April 2009, Judge Fumiko Saiga passed away. On 18 November 2009, during the 8th ASP session, the ASP elected two new Judges for nine years to fill these vacancies. The ninth session of the ASP, held from 6-10 December 2010, presented an opportunity for the ASP to discuss important issues including plans for judicial elections to be held during the 10th ASP. The Assembly of States at its 10th session, held in New York from 12-21 December 2011, elected six new judges for a full term of nine years, to fill judicial vacancies in the Court.

In a plenary session held on 11 March 2009, ICC judges elected Judge Sang-hyun Song as the new ICC President. Judge Fatoumata Dembele Diarra and Judge Hans-Peter Kaul will serve as First and Second Vice-President respectively. They are succeeding President Philippe Kirsch and first Vice-President Akua Kuenyehia and second Vice-President René Blattmann. On 11 March 2012, the judges of the International Criminal Court (ICC) re-elected Judge Sang-Hyun Song (Republic of Korea) as President of the Court for a three-year term. Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng (Botswana) was elected First Vice-President and Judge Cuno Tarfusser (Italy), Second Vice-President.