Coalition for the International Criminal Court
Follow Us: Facebook Twitter
Browse by Region
map Americas Africa Asia and Pacific Europe Middle East and North Africa
> Assembly of States Parties > Officials of the ASP
Officials of the ASP

The Assembly of States Parties is presided over by its Bureau and President, elected for three year terms. It possesses a representative character, accounting for geographical distribution and representation of various legal systems. The Bureau meets regularly throughout the year in both New York and The Hague to assist the ASP in the discharge of its responsibilities and reports to the ASP on its activities at each session. The President calls for and leads the meetings of the Bureau, and chairs the ASP sessions.

The President of the ASP is currently Ms. Tiina Intelmann of Estonia. She has been elected as President for a three-year term beginning November 2011. The two current vice-presidents are Mr. Marcus Börlin of Switzerland and Mr. Ken Kanda of Ghana.

The Bureau of the ASP is currently composed of the following other members: Belgium Canada, Finland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Japan, Samoa, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Gabon, Nigeria, South Africa, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Czech Republic, Poland and Slovakia.

The first President of the ASP was Ambassador Prince Zeid Ra'ad Zeid Al Hussein of Jordan, the second was Mr. Bruno Stagno Ugarte of Costa Rica and the third was Mr. Christian Wenaweser of Liechtenstein.

ICC Statements and Reports
Author Date and Title
03 Apr 2012
President of the Assembly visits Geneva
23 Nov 2011
Statement made by President of the Assembly of States Parties, Amb. Christian Wenaweser, on consultations to identify the next prosecutor of the International Criminal Court
HRH Prince Zeid Ra'ad Zeid Al-Hussein of Jordan
16 June 2003
Statement made by HRH Prince Zeid Ra'ad Zeid Al-Hussein of Jordan, President of the Assembly of States Parties, at the ceremony for the solemn undertaking of the Chief Prosecutor of the ICC (The Hague, The Netherlands)
Prince Zeid Ra’ad Zeid Al-Hussein, President of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute o
11 Mar 2003
Statement by Prince Zeid Ra’ad Zeid Al-Hussein at the Inauguration of the International Criminal Court (The Hague, the Netherlands)